momydu

new older email guestbook

2004-05-19

Never let your sister update your diary.

I know that Geneva doesn�t always update every day, but it�s impossible for a sister to resist the temptation to fill this space with stories.

When Geneva was quite young our parents (meaning our dad and her mom) were into this phase of raising their own food. They had a huge garden, they raised rabbits, chickens and once even a lamb, all to eat. I know it sounds horribly distasteful and quite frankly it was pretty gross, but they were into it.

One evening our dad was reading Geneva a story and he pointed to a drawing of a chicken and asked Geneva what it was. Geneva replied, �Mmmm�Yummy. Chicken.� Our dad thought this was the best thing ever. I am certain that he had high hopes that she would not grow up to be squeamish about such things as butchering small animals for food. Unfortunately for him, his hopes were tragically shut down.

I didn�t talk to my sister today, but I am certain that they are all fine and she is undoubtedly making many unnecessary trips to the grocery store and Target because she has a new car. At least, I know that�s what I do when I get a new car.

I have mixed feelings about reporting this next bit, but I think it will be okay. Geneva�s grandmother has recently been diagnosed with even more cancer. This time it�s her thyroid. Of course this is quite worrisome as she hasn�t even begun treatment for her colon cancer. The amazing thing about this woman is that upon learning about her thyroid cancer she said, �It�s a good thing the colon cancer happened so we could find this one.�

I was truly amazed when Geneva told me that story and I realized we all could learn a lesson from Grandma Faith (that really is her name!) and see our lives more positively.

I hope that you all will keep Geneva�s grandma in your prayers.

~*~

Catie

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland