momydu

new older email guestbook

2004-06-04

Faith

Ok, news about my Grandma. She has what is called Hurthle Cell Adenoma of the thyroid. These tumors are usually benign, but hers unfortunaly is not. It isn't the worse type of thyroid cancer, but it also isn't the most common or most treatable. The doctor says the game plan is as follows- first they are going to start chemo, in hopes of shrinking that tumor, and killing any lingering cancer cells in the colon area. Then at the end of this month they will do the surgery to put her all back together from the colon surgery. After she recovers from that surgery, they will do more chemo, and then the thyroid surgery. The chances are good that they can get all of this cancer. However, her survival rate and length of survivial decline due to age, and the time she has had this tumor in her body. The likelyhood of one or both of the cancers returning in moderate to high, and so my Mom says we need to just spend the next couple of years making sure we are around her as much as we can, building memories, and just loving her. I am having a hard time with the thought of just having a couple of years with her. I know it could be even less, and maybe it is selfish, but I want more. I don't know how I will be able to deal with her death, or how my Mom will deal with losing her Mommmy. I am thankful that these things were detected, and that we got extra time with her, and I am going to do my best to make good use of that time. It is just hard to think of not hearing her voice, or feeling her hugs. She is one of the greatest people I have ever known. Anyway, thank you all for your well wishes and prayers, it means a lot.

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland