momydu

new older email guestbook

2003-05-20

Heifer

The field trip was to a Heifer International farm. They are the organization that collects donations, and sends animals all over the world to needy countries, and then that one animal can literally change the entire town, or village. I have bought honey bees and chicks and ducks from them before, and given them in peoples names as a gift, it is a really wonderful charity. They have a web site you can check out if you want to give a meaningful and thoughtful gift. Anyway, we got to see water buffalo, lamas, honey bees, ducks and chicken, unerground rabbits, and my favorite, a donkey. This donkey looked like a stuffed animal. He was soft, and brown, and he loved the kids. Jared was so pleased that I came, and I was really glad I did too. We had a tour, watched a video, and had a snack before heading back to school. I think that next Christmas I am going to give donations for several people on my list, after watching the video they show you, it can make you feel ashamed of our complaints. These countries, where they have to burn dung for fuel, live on dirt in houses made of straw, and save all of their money to send maybe one of their children to school. Today I wanted a coffee chill, and instead I came home and put the money in our jar we use to save money. I am going to try and be less selfish, and more grateful. After we save enough we will take the kids somewhere special, and be thankful for being fortunate, healthy, and happy.

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland