momydu

new older email guestbook

2003-02-05

Not so nice, art bitch

NOT a good day. Very sore throat, sort of naughty boy. I woke up this morning to a very sore and stinging throat, so I decided to take a day to relax. I dropped kids at school, and returned home to rest. I must have fallen asleep, although I wasn't trying to, and the next thing I knew the vice principal at the kids school was on the phone. She said that no, it wasn't an emergency, but would I be willing to come to the school, my son had a fit in class, and they were having a hard time calming him. So, I brushed my hair, tried to wake myself up, and drove over to the school. It seems that he was upset because he didn't understand what to do in his journal, and so he tried to break his pencil. When he couldn't break his pencil he threw his journal, and then proceeded to cry loudly out of embarassment. His teacher tried her best, but finally called the school counselor and asked if he could try to help. By the time I got to the school the couselor and him were just hanging out and laughing. This man is a miracle worker. He is the most calming, kind man, and he has the best way of handling upset kids : ) After a lot of talk with my sons teacher, my son, and the counselor, it seems that the problem started when their new art teacher started to not so kindly correct the kids on their drawing ability. So, now my son is AFRAID to make a mistake. How awful is that? I am in no way saying "hey, break your pencil, throw your journal, and yell if you want to", but I am able to understand my little five year olds frustration better. I went ahead and brought him home, and we snuggled, talked about appropriate ways to handle our anger, and then he literally fell asleep mid sentence, it had wiped him out. Anyway, I really need a nap now : ) but I need to go make dinner. I am going to be in his class all day tomorrow, just to make sure things are cool.

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland