momydu

new older email guestbook

2002-06-18

Adoption

I have an issue that I am going to write about, because I am hoping someone out there will have some advice for me. It is an issue that weighs me down with worry. For anyone who doesn't know, my husband isn't my daughters biological father. We met him when she was fifteen weeks old, and he has been in our lives ever since, thus being her Daddy. Anyway, we haven't ever gone through with an adoption for several reasons, one being that we wanted her to be old enough to understand everything, and two because we wanted to do it right, meaning with a lawyer, and that can be quite pricey. So it turns out that in October we have a very large amout of cash on hand, with which we were planning a big anniversary trip, but then it struck me that it is time. My daughter has just finally grasped what everything we have been telling her all these years really means, she has had very extensive questions for us , that we have answered, and she is cool with everything. I think that we will have enough money, but I just don't know what to expect. We haven't heard from her biological father in five, almost six years, and I am not sure if we are expected to find him or what. He had no interest in being her Dad, he knew my husband and knew my daughter called him her Dad. I don't think he would have any temptation to fight an adoption. Does anyone out there have any facts for me about this, or advice? I could really use any help I can get. Like I said, it really is something that worries me, because I want to do exactly what is right by my daughter. Ok, time to pick her up from school.

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland