momydu

new older email guestbook

2006-08-27

N.H.H.JR

My Dad came to visit. First let me say that it wasn't as awful as it could have been. He has acted much worse, and I have been more miserable. Having said that, there is a reason we don't have visits that often. I don't think he knows how to be around kids, Jared asked him repeatedly to do things with him, or to even just watch him play a video game, to which his answer was "no, I don't think so" . Kids don't understand when they have one Grandpa as active and loving as my Moms husband, that there can also be men like my Dad, who don't really like kids all that much. Now, he does love them, I know he does, he just doesn't know how to relate.

He also doesn't know how to not talk about his step children the entire visit, and how perfect in every way they are, all the while putting me down for how awful I am to Richard (by the way, I am not, I am respectful and loving to my husband). Richard on the other hand is wonderful, a great husband, and pretty much just too good for me.

He was impressed with what I had lined up for us to do, the farmers market, the museum(didn't work out), the mall, Costo, and a really big Borders book store. He loves all that stuff. We did dinner for him Frdiay night, and blueberry cheesecake, and then Saturday he took us out to one of our favorite steak places.

All in all, it was a good visit for us, all things considering. He is mellowing a bit in his old age, but I really can't handle more than two days. I also got sick from something I ate, and was up all night, so he just stopped by on his way out this morning, and said goodbye. I hate that I don't have a better relationship with my Dad. I hate that he always has other people in his life that he loves so much more, and finds so much more fun to be with. I am grateful that I have a husband who will never make our children feel that way.

Now, I must rest, and be pampered.

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland