momydu

new older email guestbook

2006-01-26

Dumb, stupid, poopy illness

I am sorry I haven't updated, but guess what? My entire family had fifths disease. Have you heard of it? Well in our case, it began with me. I had a fever, chills, and aches and pains. Then five days later, a rash. I didn't put the two together. The nurse at Kaiser told me the rash was probably an allergy. So then a few days later, Jared had the rash, then Richard, then Breeana. After Jared got it the nurse figured out it was fifths disease. I picked it up at the daycare.

It is a fairly common childhood illness, a virus to be exact, although grown ups can get it also. It causes a fever, then from 4-20 days later, a rash develops. Kids tend to get extremely red cheeks as well, which is why a nickname for it is "slapped cheeks." In grown ups there is the added fun of extreme muscle and joint pain, yay! And, in some cases, the pain can last years. The rash usually lasts around ten days.

It has been a very hard week for us. Richard has had it the easiest, with just a mildly itchy rash, but Jared and Bree were pretty much wiped out, with the rash to go along with it : ( By the time you get the rash you are no longer contagious, so they are back at school, but poor Breeanas cheeks are still very red.

Anyway, I think we are on our way to recovery. I should have taken photos. That is my entire news. I hope no one else is sick!

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland