momydu

new older email guestbook

2004-05-08

Piss me off

I was just reading kitchenlogic's diary, and you really should too. The truth is, our schools aren't safe. And I have to send my two babies into those schools every day. It is terrifying as a parent to know that really you are leaving your kids in the hands of the officials in charge, and you have to pray that they are doing their jobs. I am an active part in the kids school, but there is only so much that one parent can do. I can voice my opinions over and over again on the safety in our school, and if no one else is voicing their opinion, then eventually I just end up being the overly paranoid, bothersome Mom.

I have to tell this story, now that we are on the subject. My kids school is really a good one. But here is one of their biggest flaws. When you pick up your kid after school, you can literally drive right up along side the school, and your kid can walk ten feet to your car. It is convenient, especially on our super hot 110 degree days. But, when I go to volunteer during the day, about 11 am, I started to notice something. The kids, first grade kids, were leaving their classrooms alone, and walking up an unfenced hallway, a hundred feet or so, around another unfenced unguarded hallway, to an empty bathroom. The office isn't in view of this hall. No one can see if there is an adult who doesn't belong there, who could snatch up these kids. How the parking lot is situated, they could grab the kid, drive right out, and be on the freeway in less than two minutes.

I not only complained, but got my two friends to do so as well. They said maybe they can take a partner with them, two kids are safer then one.

So, weeks went by, and I noticed kids still going alone. I talked to them again, and they said that procedures were being followed, as one person told me "We haven't had any problems."

Basically I just have told my kids not to go to the bathroom during class time. Only at lunch and recess. My friends have told their kids the same. I have told other parents to tell their children as well. This is just an example of not having a real plan for keeping the kids safe. As you can see, it makes me quite mad. I wish there was an answer to every problem in schools.

Anyway, I have ranted long enough. I need a shower, and then I am going to paint a desk. Have a good day everyone.

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland