momydu

new older email guestbook

2004-02-15

A scary night

Very scary situation with Breeana and swallowing a battery. It was actually a piece of body jewelry, that was 1 inch long and 1/2 inch wide. It flashed different colors, and it attached to your body with a magnet.

So, she and Jared were at his friends birthday party, she was goofing around, putting it on her tongue, and it went down her throat. It was too big to cough up, and so it went down, lord knows how that huge thing went down. Then she called me panicked on the cel phone, and Richard and I raced in the car to pick her up, while calling Kaiser. Kaiser put me on the phone with the poison control center, who then had me very freaked out. He said that we needed to get her to the emergency room immediately, and to hope it was in her tummy and not stuck in her esophagus or a bit farther down, or they would need to go in and get it out.

They said the danger was in the battery acid. I was crying and having a panic attack, while Richard was trying to drive. We got to the party, threw the kids in the car, raced to my friend E.'s house, dropped off Jared, without really explaing (Thank God once again for friends), and flew over to the hospital.

The doctor saw her right away, they did an xray, and saw it as clear as can be. I am so very thankful that at that time it had already made its way down into her stomach. Next it would be on its way to the intestines. She was out of the danger zone. She did however have a fever, from the foreign body, and her blood pressure was high, problem from the nerves. Now, we have to pump her full of fiber, metamucil, prune juice, etc.. She is going to hopefully poop it out today or tomorrow, and I am the lucky one who gets to search her poop until we find it. On Tuesday, if it still isn't out, we have to take her for another xray, and they will decided what to do then, but for now they are confident it will be fine.

There just is no way to explain the fear taht we experienced last night. She could have choked to death, the battery could have gotten stuck, I am so glad things worked the way they did. Poor Jared was so scared for his sissy, I am glad we had somewhere safe to take him. Anyway, I was up every two hours checking on her last night, so I am going to go take a nap. I hope everyone had a better Valentines day then me : )

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland