momydu

new older email guestbook

2003-06-01

We are home

It was a very busy weekend. My Mom got here Friday afternoon, which gave us a nice long day to visit. I took her out to see "The In-laws", and we had a blast. It was a cute movie, but I had a hard time believing Michael Douglas in his comedic scenes.

When we got home we had some of the carmel cake with white chocolate almond frosting, that I had made for my Mom (I didn't get to see her on Mothers Day).

Saturday morning we got up early and kissed the kids goodbye, and left for Nevada. It took us three hours to get there, and what a beautiful drive! One of the lakes was still frozen over, and the views were breathtaking.

We were able to check into our room early, and so we got dressed for the wedding, and off we went.

The wedding was held in the middle of nowhere. It was a bit strange, we sat under a tent, in dirt, but some of the wedding was very nice. My friend was so beautiful, and her husband was very nice. Her two sons from her previous marriage were in the wedding as well, and were adorable.

Richard and I visited with people, ate, had cake and took pictures, and then made a quick exit. By the time we left everyone was drunk (except us), and I realized that although I love my friend, and her sister, it is hard to be around them for an extended period of time. For us, alcohol doesn't have to be involved to make a good time, and even though we drink occasionally, we don't do the drunk thing. EVERY time I have spent time with them in the past ten years, the evening ends with them being drunk.

So, it was nice to see them, lovely dress, sweet ceremony, but the rest of the day was even better : ) We hurried back to the hotel, changed clothes, and did a bit of gambling. I won almost $200 in quarters! I can't tell you how thrilled I was, ofcourse I lost most of it, but that's not the point! Then we went over to their small theater, and saw "Bruce almighty." It was soooo funny, that at one point I couldn't breathe I was laughing so hard, and Richard had tears streaming down his face while he almost fell out of his chair.

We finished our evening by having a very nice dinner, and going up to our wonderful room, I am not going to give details on what happened next : )

Today we got up early, had a nice breakfast, and headed home to our kids. My Mom had spoiled them beyond belief, with toys, movies, and junk food, and they all were smiling when we got here. It is really special to see them together, they love her to death.

Anyway, then we kissed and thanked her, gave her the special scented teddy bear we got her as a thank you, and she left for home. The rest of the day has been filled with naps, and snuggles.

Right now I am going to go put away some laundry, and get to bed early.

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland