momydu

new older email guestbook

2002-11-02

Goodbye to our friend

My daughters rat died today. Her name was Harriet, after "Harriet the spy". She was about three years old, and the nicest pet you could ever have. She barked like a dog (yes, really!), she loved to lay on your shoulder and be blanketed by your hair, when I changed her cage she sat next to me and waited patiently, and she used her cage like monkey bars! My daughter went in her room to give Harriet some carrot pieces and noticed she was stiff, and her eyes were open. My daughter was devastated, and I think she was surprised by how hard it hit her. We had a funeral and buried Harriet on the side of the house. For anyone who thinks rats are gross for pets I have to tell you, I have never had such a loving, clean, quiet pet in my life. I know they are portrayed as disusting stinky diseased creatures, but I have grown to know the truth. My daughter said she hopes Harriet is in heaven when she gets there : ) It broke my heart.

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland