momydu

new older email guestbook

2001-11-29

My Grandma

My Grandma was at the doctors office all day today with my Mom. My Mom took her in so she could get some medication for her arthritis, and it turned into an all day thing. First off, I should say she hasn't been to a doctor in twenty years. Even then it was only for a hurt back, no check ups, no nothing. So they take her blood pressure and it is very high, like danger high. Right away they tell my Mom they need to run a whole battery of tests, first being an EKG. While they are waiting for the EKG results, they do her blood work. My Mom said they took tons of blood. Then they got the results of the EKG and they are abnormal. They tell her to go home, eat some dinner(by this time it was almost five and her appointment began a little before nine!), and come back at seven this evening. The wait was awful between those few hours, I cried at my husband, prayed, and just was scared. My Mom called me a few minutes ago to let me know that they discovered that my Grandma had a heart attack, they aren't sure how recent. Her heart rythm is off, and her blood pressure is still very high. I guess they have started her on some medication for her arthritis and her blood pressure, given her instructions on changing her diet immediately, and now they will schedule her an appointment to do more testing. I can't tell you what this woman means to me. Her home was the happy home to go to when I was a child. I felt protected and loved in their home, and my Grandma has always been an incredible source of strenth for me. She is the heart of our family, and this has just shocked me into the knowledge that her time may come sometime in the near future. We lost my grandpa five years ago this month, and the thought of losing her as well is hard for me to take. My Mom has told her that she will be taking her to her appointments and making sure she keeps up with the medication, and I know she will enforce it! Ok, I need to sleep, I am drained and I still have guests coming in tomorrow!

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland