momydu

new older email guestbook

2003-09-02

Mommy

We are home. It was a long weekend, and I am very tired. My Mom went into surgery early Saturday morning, and my step dad Ron and I waited in a very cold waiting room. After a few hours her doctor came in and gave us the news.

Her knee had a lot more damage then he had expected, so he had to do a lot more shaving and removing of the yucky stuff. He then began to tell us that she HAS to lose this weight now. She has 130 pounds to lose, and almost no way of losing it. She can't hardly walk around, let alone exercise, her arthritis is very painful, she has problems with the feeling in her hands, and she is almost always in pain. He wants her to have weight loss surgery. He says if she doesn't she will have to have knee replacements within the next few years (she is only 47). The likelyhood that she will have a stroke or a heart attack is high! This is all news to me, I was kept in the dark on the seriousness of the situation.

After we spoke to him, we went in to see her. She already knew that things weren't good. I explained to her what the doctor had said, and she said she knew that it would have to be done. She was nervous, and so are we. I don't know all the risks of the surgery, but what I have heard is very scary.

Anyway, I spent the rest of the weekend making sure she was comfortable, and able to eat and sleep. She can't shower for a week, and will be in a wheelchair until she can get around better. We had to come home last night since the kids had to start school today, and Richard had to return to work, but I am going to be on the phone with her daily, making sure things are going ok.

This seems unimportant now, but I have lost six pounds since last week.

Ok, I need to go get caught up on stuff around the house, there is like ten tons of laundry to be put away, and I need to get ready for my gyno appointment.

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland