momydu

new older email guestbook

2001-10-14

His name is Ron

I spoke to my Mom today. Her husband works at Technicolor in Hollywood, Ca. I wanted to see if they have had any issues with threats or such. My Mom says they have just stepped up security, which makes me feel better. This is a man who I couldn't allow myself to like until about a year after he and my Mom married. I pretended to like him, but I always thought mean things about him and talked behind his back. I know this was a childish response, but it goes to show how deeply divorce of ones parents can affect a child, even a eighteen year old child, which was how old I was when my parents divorced. My parents had, what I thought was a nomal marriage. I didn't know that other families didn't function as ours. I didn't really know that other children were not constantly intimidated by their fathers, and that their parents rarely spoke to one another. So as I slept late one morning, just after graduating from highschool, my Mother woke me up. She said " I am leaving your Father, tomorrow I am moving out, and I hope you'll come with me. " You can probably guess how surprised I was. I cried and cried, and really I didn't know why I cared, because at that time I thought I hated my Dad. When he told me goodbye he said " Your Mom is leaving me because she wants to have sex with other men, and that is not o.k. with me. " Good one Dad, nice way to clear this up for me. I didn't tell my Mom what he had said to me for a long time, I always thought that was why she left, but I kept it a secret from her. When we finally did discuss it, she put all of my fears to rest, and explained it. For a few years after that, we lived together, just me and my Mom. She had started getting out, and had met a Man. He was nice enough, but I hated him, because I didn't want him to marry my Mom. To make this long story short, he still occasionally drives me crazy. He sleeps too much, and he tells corny jokes. He is very laid back, and some would say lazy, but he is wonderful. He loves me, and he loves my family. He treats us as if we have been a part of his life all along. He calls me his daughter, and he called me on my birthday to tell me he was thinking of me, and my Mom never even knew he had called. My point of telling this story is, things like what happened on the 11th of September, and the recent ANTHRAX scares really put things in perspective for me. I am so glad my Mom has someone to lean on and get comfort from in these times, and I really think that the man who I once hated is now one of the most important members of my family.

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland