momydu

new older email guestbook

2002-09-22

Woosh

We have been having serious talks with the kids all weekend. Not sit down, lecture kind of talks, but while playing a board game, and after we kiss goodnight kind of talks. With my son it has been about school, and acceptable behavior, and how proud we are when he really tries to follow the rules. With my girl it has been about respecting people, especially grown ups, and doing what she is told to do, when she is told to do it, so there isn't the need for an arguement. I think God gives you just what you can handle in life, and maybe he tests you now and again with some hard times. In these hard times I think is when you really learn who you are as a person, and a parent. It seems like the parents like that woman who was caught on tape beating her daughter, really are cowards. Instead of taking the hard route, and teaching their children right from wrong, loving them day to day, even in stressful moments that children sometimes put us in, they take their anger out on their children by hitting them and putting them down. That poor little girl, I cried when I saw the tape on the news. I feel good about the way I live my life, and the choices I have made. They may not always be the right or the easy choice, but in the end I have been given two children who are loving and honest, smart, and a huband who loves me and the kids, and works hard every day to be a good husband and father. I think that what we are going through with my son is a bit of a test of parenting skills, and we just can't fail him, that is why I get so overwhelmed, because before you are a parent you never understand what a huge responsibility raising a human being is! And I just want to do it right, you know? Ok, we have plans for Pictionary and Yahtzee, I think I'll even make popcorn : )

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland