momydu

new older email guestbook

2002-09-19

Help

How sad is it to say that coffee gets me through a hard day? Well, it does. Today was bad in a big way. My son is having a hard time at school again. He is the sweetest, most charming boy ninety percent of the time, but oh my God does he have a temper. For some reason, which no one seems to understand, he is totally overwhelmed by even the smallest amount of the change in routine at school. On days when there will be a guest, or on days when his teacher changes things around, he goes crazy. He yells, cries, and now spits. I am ashamed, and embarassed to be admitting this here in my diary. It makes me feel like I have in some way not prepared him for school. I am secretly scared that I have not given him what he needs to succeed. And even though to an outsider it may seem like just something that a bratty five year old would do and outgrow, as a parent it is frightening. You see, he is not bratty. He is doing this, and he can't seem to help it. All of a sudden you start to analyze your parenting. You start to worry about him having to repeat Kindergarten, and how that sets him up for the rest of his school career. So, I had a melt down. His teacher contacted the school psychologist for ways to help him manage his anger, as well as try to help him cope with change. For some reason when she said "Psychologist" I started to panic. She is the kindest woman in the whole world, she held my hand and reminded me how great a kid he is, and how we just have to find a way to help him get through this. So, that got me back into realtiy, and that this is about my son, and not me, so I am over it now. We are going to try and come up with some creative solutions, but any ideas would be greatly appreciated. He is five, he is beautiful, he tells me he loves me and that I am pretty. He holds my hand and he makes me laugh, he is my favorite boy in the world.

previously next

I love you forever - 2007-10-04
Breeana and Mom - 2007-09-25
First baby - 2007-09-19
The results - 2007-07-31
12 dasy until work - 2007-07-29

design by simplify.

Diaryland